Skip to main content

ONS Congress® Scholarships

ONS Congress Scholarships are supported by the Oncology Nursing Foundation, Nancy Berkowitz Scholarship Fund, Ron Schlesinger Scholarship Fund, Oncology Hematology Care, Inc., Siouxland Chapter fund, CEBONS Karen Zapotoski Memorial ONS Congress Scholarship, and Susie Maloney Scholarship Fund.

Important Dates:

Applications Open: September 15, 2023
Applications Due: December 1, 2023
Applicants Notified by end of February 2024

NoteAn individual cannot receive this scholarship more than one time. 

Purpose: To support registered nurses interested in improving cancer care by developing their personal knowledge as a result of attending the ONS Congress and sharing this new knowledge with others.

Scholarship: Recipients will receive a scholarship for up to $2,000 to apply toward ONS Congress registration, travel to and from ONS Congress, and per diem expenses.

  • Individuals living or working within a 30-mile radius of the conference location are eligible to receive the conference registration fee only.
  • One scholarship is available to nurses in the Cincinnati Tri-State area with preference given to members of the ONS Cincinnati Tri-State area chapter through Oncology Hematology Care, Inc funding.
  • Two to three scholarships are available to applicants living in Sioux City, Storm Lake, and surrounding areas through the Siouxland Chapter fund.


  • The applicant must be a registered nurse involved in cancer nursing.
  • The applicant must be able to attend the 2024 ONS Congress in its entirety (April 24 - 28, 2024 in Washington, DC)
  • Applicant must agree to participate in a follow-up survey.

Scoring: You will be scored based on your ability to clearly articulate and address the essay questions and whether your plan to share information obtained at ONS Congress is detailed, clear, realistic, and achievable.

To strengthen your application, use free online tools such as Grammarly and have someone read over your application to ensure accurate spelling, punctuation, and grammar.

 Points to Consider:

  • Do not wait until the last day to start an application as a quality and competitive application will take time to complete.
  • We suggest that you use your time wisely by getting a head start and collecting any additional required items such as the name and email address of someone writing your letter of recommendation before you begin.
  • Your essay responses should be of good quality, in terms of grammar, punctuation, syntax, conciseness, and ability to answer the question. Ensure you submit a detailed response and use the word count to your advantage. 
  • To strengthen your application, use free online tools such as Grammarly and have someone read over your application to ensure accurate spelling, punctuation, and grammar.

Nursing students may be eligible for a separate scholarship to attend ONS Congress.
Please review the Ceira Boyle Oncology Student Nursing Scholarship for more information.

How To Apply:

  • Applications are currently closed; sign up for updates on the next funding cycle.
  • Email with any questions. 
  • All questions must be submitted to the Foundation prior to 4:30 pm Eastern Time on the day of the application due date in order to receive a response prior to the deadline.
  • No late applications will be accepted, and all applications must be submitted through the application platform.

2024 ONS Congress Scholarship Recipients

Aaron Sherck, BSN, RN

Abner Cardona, RN

Amber Whitehead RN-BSN, OCN®

Amy Ballou DNP, MSN, ACNP-BC

Ann Salajka MSN, RN, OCN®

Anna Cummings RN, BSN, CCM

Annemarie Hartman-Charness RN MSN OCN®

Brandy Thornberry, RN

Brenda Marsolek BSN, RN, OCN®

Caitlin Webster MSN, RN, CPHON®

Carlie Stott MSN, APRN, FNP-C

Catina Gernert, OCN®

Cecylia Fabrizio RN, BSN

Coleen Calero MSN, GRN, RN-BC

Cristan Rose Villanueva MSN, RN, APRN

Cristine Joligon MSN, BSN, OCN®, BMTCN, NI-BC

Cynthia Sucevich RN, BSN, OCN®

Dakota Flohaug RN, BSN

Danielle Thomas BSN, RN, OCN®

David Makumi Kinyanjui, RN

Davina Smith, RN

Diane Blair BS, MS, BSN, RN, OCN®

Elham Kojidi BSN,RN,MS

Erika Holland MSN, RN, OCN®

Erin Howser RN, BSN. OCN®

Esther Pakau, Registered Nursing Officer

Felix Chumo, RN

Gisele Tlusty MSN, RN

Hannah O'Flanagan RN BSN

Heather Edwards MSN, RN, OCN®

Heather Levy, RN, OCN®

Jennifer Costa MSN, APRN, PPCNP-BC

Jennifer McQueary MSN, RN, BMTCN®

Jessica Auge BSN, RN, OCN®

Jessica Homan OCN®, BSN, RN

Jessica Murphy, RN

Jocelyn Faro MSN, RN, OCN®

Jodi McClain AOCNP®, MSN

Julie Allen BSN, RN, OCN®

Julie Kuehl BSN, RN

Kate Burkhart BSN, RN, OCN®

Katherine Abusheery BSN, RN

Kelly Deverell MSN, RN, CMSRN, OCN®

Kelly McNulty BSN, RN- MED-SURG-BC

Kimberly Holston MSN, RN, CMSRN

Latesha Cook-Webb RN

Leah Yonker RN, BSN, OCN®

Leslie Harry, RN, BSN, OCN®

Leslie Landon MSN, RN, NPD-BC

Lisa Morse MS, RN, AGCNS-BC

Louis Ruggiero MSN, RN, CPHON®

Luanne Carletti RN, BSN, OCN®

Lynnette Riffel, RN

Mary Wilch RN, MSN, OCN®

Mary Grace Ray BSN, OCN®

Mary Pat Johnston PhD, RN, AOCN®

Melissa Gaines BSN, RN, MS-M

Melissa Yountz RN, BSN, BMTCN®

Michele Adams RN, BSN, OCN®

Myeong-ga Cho MSN, RN

Melissa Gaines BSN, RN, MS-M

Monica Goodman BSN RN OCN®

Nicole Graber RN, BSN, OCN®

Nicole Whalen MSN, RN, OCN®

Oluwadamilare Akingbade RN, RM, RPHN, BNSc, MSc, CGNC, PhD

Rachel Hawn RN, BSN

Rachel Hendershot BSN, RN, OCN®

Roger Donini RN BA BS BSN VA-BC

Rosario Villaruel, RN

Sabrina Orique PhD, RN, AOCNS®

Sandra Re, Research Nurse


Savannah Nall BSN, RN, OCN®, BMTCN®, BC-AMB

Sheila Gwinn RN, BSN, OCN®

Sheila Sawe, Advanced Diploma in Oncology Nursing

Stephanie Fryberger, RN


Tiffany Drennan RN, BSN, OCN®

Tracy Kustra, BSN

Tricia Tobe RN, BSN, OCN®